The City has a City Council/City Manager form of local government. General Municipal elections are held on the first Tuesday of November in even-numbered years. The Mayor is elected at-large by the entire City for a four year term. Council members are elected by district, by the residents within their respective district, for four-year overlapping terms. A Council member of each district must live in that district and must be a registered voter in that district to be eligible to hold the office of Council member for that district, and a candidate for any district must live in that district and must be a registered voter in that district to be eligible to run for the office of Council member for that district. Only voters who live in a district shall be eligible to vote in the election for Council member of that district.  The Mayor is elected by the voters of the City at-large, and must reside within the City boundaries.

Local Election Official 

The City Clerk serves as the local elections official and coordinates with the County of Stanislaus in conducting Municipal Elections. Duties of the Elections Official include preparation of necessary resolutions calling for General and Special Municipal Elections and declaring elections results; coordination of the candidate nomination process and receipt and processing of initiative, referendum and recall petitions.

Upcoming Election

The City's next scheduled Municipal Election will be held on November 8, 2022.  On November 8, 2022 voters in Districts 1 and 2 will elect a City Councilmember.    

Nomination Period

The Nomination Period begins July 2022.  The required forms will not be available until that time and include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Nomination Petition (must be signed by at least 20, but not more than 30, registered voters from the District he or she is nominated);
  • Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement; and
  • Campaign Finance Disclosure Statements.

It is recommended that individuals interested in becoming a City Council candidate contact the City Clerk's Office (209-538-5731 for information. 

  1. Diane Nayares-Perez, CMC

    City Clerk
    Phone: 209-538-5731